Predictions for the rest of 2010

So with 2010 more than half-ways behind us, I decided to make a little prediction on who’s coming back when.
Red = comeback confirmed, Purple = my guess only

August is going to be a fun month, with Se7en, SHINee, and BoA all actively promoting. I think this will be better than the Rain-Hyori-2pm clash during May (especially since I believe the August contenders are musically a little more standout at this point). T-ara is confirmed for an album (full album? But my prayers are never answered that well…) in September/October. Rainbow will be back September, hopefully with much improvement from Gossip Girl. Both Kahi and Gain have solo activities lined up for September, ironic that it’s yet another Pledis/NegaNetwork clash after Son Dambi/Narsha.

For my predictions, I see a 50/50 chance of 2NE1–rumors are they are already working on choreo/album, but for some reason I don’t feel a comeback. But they have to. So either they’ll come out early, say September or early October at the latest, or not at all.

Will the Wonder Girls return to Korea? Their summer was hella hectic, but I feel 2DT was too rushed and didn’t really make an impact. If they have plans, it’ll not be until 2011. Similarly, I think 2pm is going to be back either really late 2010 or early 2011. However, I feel the 2AM boys will be back in October/November. They only have one mini-album under their belts since debut, so a full album is due.

4minute is done for the year, especially with Japan promotions. MBLAQ is probably also done, but a late 2010 comeback is remotely possible. I feel BEAST will be back in November. They’ve more or less wrapped up overseas promotions and it’s been a while since Shock of the New Era.

I don’t predict anything from the Soshi girls in 2010 since I think they’re the only group preparing to enter Japan seriously (meaning long-term), but SM might have changed strategies after DBSK/BoA, so a late-year mini-album is possible. Big Bang seems to still be promoting in Japan, with their new single Beautiful Hangover soon to be released, so I don’t think we’ll see them until 2011. But do remember T.O.P. was working on an album before he started filming Into the Fire, so expect that to drop late 2010/early 2011 before any Big Bang comebacks.

Kara is sticking around in Japan for only about a month, so I predict they may pop out a mini-album in December (a third album would be nice, too). Some sixth sense (that does not see dead people, tyvm) tells me Brown Eyed Girls will be back in action in December. SIGN was so long ago. UKISS, too, has been missing, since Man Man Hani, so they might return in November/December. After School won’t return as a full group until their last subunit promotes, so it’s 2011 for them. f(x) needs a late year mini-album turnaround, but I just feel SM is semi-giving up.

The New Year will be interesting indeed. By that time, maybe miss A will release a second mini-album! Talk about time and progression–rookies don’t stay rookies for long, do they? Let’s check back on this in 2011 and see how many I got right.

5 thoughts on “Predictions for the rest of 2010

  1. Hi, I’m new to kpop and it’s fun reading your blog! I got into kpop after my friend showed me snsd’s gee, and I really like kara’s mister, too. so how do you know that snsd isn’t going to comeout with a new song this year? do artists to japan to perform pretty often? idk I’m really new to kpop but that will be sad if my favorite group leaves just when I started to listen to them D:

    • Hello, kpopnewbie! Thanks for reading!
      I’ll fill you in on SNSD’s activities for this year. So after their explosive popularity after Gee, Genie, Oh!, and Run Devil Run, the girls are going to start promoting in Japan. At this point we don’t know if they will just be staying there a few months or a few years like their labelmates BoA and DBSK did in the past. Though DBSK did come back to Korea to promote Mirotic, they were noticeably absent from the Kpop scene for quite a while. However, I think SM is thinking about changing their strategy since they don’t really have another girl group as dominant as SNSD in Korea, so it’s unlikely SNSD will be gone forever. Still, they are pulling most of the SNSD girls from variety shows/MC positions, so it looks like they are serious about Japan. Because of this, I don’t think they will focus on the Korean market for the rest of 2010 and focus entirely on entering Japan. They will have a concert late August and release a Japanese single in September.

      Don’t worry, because it’s not like they’re gone forever. SNSD is too popular and too much of a money maker for SM for them to just leave like DBSK did, because while SM had Super Junior and later SHINee as popular male groups in Korea, they have, what, f(x)?

  2. I don’t think it would be a good idea for 2PM to come back. Without U sales were so bad, 10 out of 10 must have done so MUCH better. All I know is that this summer (which is slowly turning into autumn) Big Bang, 2NE1 and BEAST are supposed to come back. ¬_¬
    U-Kiss too, apparently but they said that back in June…

    • Yeah where is Ukiss…this is ridiculous, outside of Dongho I don’t even really see them on shows anymore. I hope SHINee/Se7en/BoA just starts the wave of good end of the year comebacks because the summer was kinda lame…

  3. Pingback: OMG 2NE1 excuse me spazzing out right now « Kpop Freetalk with a Glass of Cyber Lemonade

Leave a Reply

