Moral lessons

I really don’t like preaching, especially in our bubble known as Kpop–I prefer if others can discover mistakes and correct them on their own, as the end result is much more meaningful, and come on, Kpop is founded upon fanwars and hysterical fangirl/boying. However, there are some misunderstandings/points of hypocrisy that absolutely drive me nuts, so much so that I have resigned myself from attempting to explain on every forum I stalk, and instead will put my thoughts into my own post in hopes that others will maybe read and spread the knowledge.

As they say, pictures are worth a thousand words, so macros must have even higher inherent value. Here’s some excellent ones that will make the point across much easier than a written rant.

First, Taeyeon’s racist comment about calling Alicia Keys “pretty for a black person.” This apparently is a pretty big reason why a lot of people dislike SNSD, which is extremely unfortunate considering it is completely false. I am not a Sone, nor am I trying to make excuses for Taeyeon’s words. Rather, there’s NOTHING TO EXCUSE. She actually did nothing wrong because this was not what she said–I listened to the Chin Chin clip myself, and her words were very much distorted in translation thanks to some anti who even disabled comments on the YT video to prevent clarification.


^That about sums it up.

In Asian languages, ‘black’ translates directly into “African American” without negative connotations. No one uses the phrase “African-American” because it translates into something akin to a scientific name, which would be ridiculous to use in colloquial speech. I feel bad for Taeyeon because she really did nothing wrong here.

Next, let’s talk Key. Key from SHINee is known as a very blunt diva, and he will say what he thinks to your face. You actually have no idea how much I adore Key (I kept on doing his Ring Ding Dong ‘butterfly’ move and it was pissing off my friends), but I was a little offended when Nicole from Kara revealed that Key told her she was fat and asked “when are you doing on a diet?” in, I assume, typical Key fashion, which is to say very bluntly. I am more annoyed that people started commenting, “oh, but you know, they are like BEST FRIENDS, so it’s ok, and Nicole wasn’t really hurt, and I’d want a guy to tell me I’m fat too! (extreme lol at this, O RLY?).” I’d assume being friends would make this even more not ok–your friendship obligates you to at least word it a little nicer.

But that’s actually not my main issue.

Cause you know if it was actually Goo Hara who turned to Nicole and said, “bitch, why can’t your waist be 21 inches like mine,” she would not live to see daylight.

We had a saying like this in debate once: if a guy is rude, he’s just being assertive, but if a girl is rude, she’s being a bitch. I lament. I’m glad we’re all tolerating all the divaness of Key/Heechul/Kwon/others so well, but can we not flame the girls for being confident or critical?

Lastly, Kikwang’s blackface issue. If don’t know already, Kikwang from Beast dressed in blackface to play out a watermelon CF on the comedy show Hot Brothers, and international Kpoppers erupted in rage.

Personally, I have zero tolerance for racism. However, I am also a huge advocate for understanding–even if you vehemently disagree with the viewpoint of another, at least try to understand where its coming from. All this “omfg why is Korea/rest of Asia so far behind, I hate their racism” vs. “zomgbbqsauce Westerners just try to impress their opinions on everyone, imperialistic eggfarters” really gets us no where.

I actually found no need to write about the issue myself because I happened upon someone else’s entry that took the words right out of my mouth and made it 100x better. So if you are hating on Kikwang (and rather rightfully so, it’s not cool), please read it, and try to put down the pitchfork.

Cultural division exists on both sides–Westerners don’t understand Asian conservatism (what’s wrong with a teenage girl wearing a tanktop?), and Asian cultures don’t understand the Western lack of filial piety (why are some teens so disrespectful?), and I can make lots of pro/con points on both sides. Just know that the line drawn isn’t permanent. I apply a similar plea to the Key issue–Asian cultures are patriarchal because that’s how history turned out, and I accept that. I just hope fans living in more gender-equal nations won’t start to think this is an acceptable practice in their own countries. After all, acceptance breeds opinions, and opinions lead to action.

So do some research before flinging around the hate. You never have to accept someones words or actions, but you do have an obligation to try to understand it.

Let’s keep an open mind, and I’ll start blogging more lighthearted stuff :3

And I ‘borrowed’ all of these from random AKP forum threads–I don’t know who the original creators were, but I give them credit and a hardy pat on the back for their efforts.

6 thoughts on “Moral lessons

  1. Mmm, so very true. The double standards that people have for female and male idols sometimes gets on my nerves. About Taeyeon’s comment, I thought that SNSD was already on the receiving end for much hate at that time..? That translation just made things worse if I recalled correctly.
    And if it was Jo Kwon voicing out his unhappiness about Music Bank (like the rather recent controversy with Tae Yeon), more people would go “ZOMG HE’S FREAKING RIGHT TEH KBS R BAD” rather than “HE’S ACTING LIKE A SPOILED CHILD!! *hatehatehate*” I can probably write another essay-style comment on my opinion of that incident, but in short I agree with your Goo Hara comparison lol.

    Your posts are always nice to read and makes me want to comment a lot, but I’m way too behind in my work so I’ll have to stop for now 8D;; Keep up with the posts, lighthearted or heavy! 😀

    • ^o^ comments like this make me happy. Thanks for reading! Haha as long as people read and get some amusement out of it, then my job’s complete. And blogging is such a nice distraction these days, so I’ll definitely keep on writing!

  2. Fantastic post. Greater access to international ideas, people, music etc., should be accompanied by or promote greater understanding and appreciation. Yet, it often happens that we forget that although things like kpop are more accessible and just a click away, we are not all living within a homogeneous culture despite what our internet bubble tricks us into thinking. That’s the catch with the internet, isn’t it?

    • Touche 😀 But with all types of fans transcending races, languages barriers, and geographic space for this thing called music, we realize that as people we have much more in common than we give credit for. Isn’t the internet such a wonderful thing?

Leave a Reply

