I’ll be listening to this a lot next week…

Credit: MiChiVisualeuse

Wait until you YouTube muddy cult. Be warned! That MV was a little too visceral for my taste. But Nega’s bipolar musical quality contrasting haunting guitar lines plus piano with suicidal screamo is so soul-wrenching and precious for some reason. Plus, this will make for perfect emo-music as I hit the library for physics tomorrow. Some Kara Rollin’ would so not fit the mood (aka I HATE PHYSICS GO DIE NOW).

Remember that I came upon Kpop from J-rock. I honestly had no interest in music beyond classical and my orchestra/band repertoire until I happened upon a certain J-rock band called Nightmare, and from then on my life became so musically rich, from the current radio pop to underground indie to Brit rock to Swedish metal, and yes, even High School Musical for a week (after which I was so traumatized I don’t even give Glee a chance). I even started singing again, and all was happy and flowers. For some reason, Jpop was never my jam, but I kept on seeing videos of J-rock vs. K-rock and, naturally, J-pop vs. Kpop videos. I’m pretty sure my first Kpop videos were of DBSK, Suju, and the like, but for the longest time I thought boy bands were in general ridiculous.

The first Kpop video that really stuck to me was this, of all things.

Credit: hazerxx

Impression 1: what kind of name was SS501? I just finished the WWII portion of my history course then, and the SS
Waffen definitely came to mind…

Impression 2: o.O wow the dancing was really synchronized. And the guys were kind of attractive.

Then came the Brown Eyed Girls (Abracadabra got me in, but it was their first two albums that made me stay), then Ring Ding Dong, then 2pm, 2NE1, and my life was over. When I started watching 2NE1TV 24 hours before my chem final…er, let’s just say I am extremely grateful for my grades. That was on top of the WGM I was already watching (but thankfully before I found sites with updated subs, so I only had 16 episodes to work with), and once summer started I watched every SNSD variety show in two weeks. The excessiveness burned out really quickly, though, so now I am grateful to have Kpop as a good diversion to keep the equilibrium of my day.

I’m excited to return to normal blogging soon. I am a 2NE1 and Japan Invasion review behind, plus Beast is coming back next week. Look out for a September Top 5 post, first. I still need to get two midterms over with, though, and schedule out 15 hours of mandatory volunteering, all for next week. Organic chemistry went surprisingly well, so I’m comforted (probably false hope >.<) that my hardest course is manageable with some efficient studying. For all you students out there, don't forget to hit the books! It's all about the self-discipline.

3 thoughts on “I’ll be listening to this a lot next week…

  1. hello! 🙂
    have you listened to SHINee’s three new songs? (hello, one, and get it) probably not lol they were just released like, 10 minutes ago heehee
    THE. TIMBRE. IN. KEY’S. VOICE. HAS. RETURNED. FROM. THE. DEAD. i started crying in pure happiness. he is hitting those notes in “one”.

    • KEY’S GORGEOUS IN ONE. In Hello, esp. live, however, he just sounds like he’s straining, and I don’t know why, and it’s making me all sad (his parts are slowly getting transferred to Taemin, whose voice is all kinds of @#$%@#$%:D in progress right now). Still buying the repackage, tho 😛

      • eeeep it’s like SM is purposely f***ing with Key’s range or something. I’ve seen so many Hello parodies about Key losing his lines. It’s very sad. To extent, i feel like vocally, Hello fit Taemin the best which might be why Taem had so many parts in it. Hopefully, Key sings more by their next album!
        Not gonna lie though, Taemin’s voice is so pretty it’s driving me crazy. What I would do to hear him sing a full cover of “Only One For Me…..”

Leave a Reply

